The Bangasamoro Government, through the Bangsamoro Commission for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage gave us a concise discussion on the Tausug.


The Tausug is the dominant Muslim ethnic group in the Sulu archipelago because of its political and religious institutions. The Tausug occupy Jolo, Indanan, Siasi, and Patikul in Sulu. There are also scattered settlements in Zamboanga del Sur and Cotabato, and all the way to Malaysia, which has an estimated Tausug population of more than 110,000.


The word Tausug is a combination of Tau (person) and Suug (the old name of Jolo Island). The present-day generation of Tausugs are believed to have descended from the different ethnic groups that migrated to the Sulu Archipelago.


On their language, the Tausug has adopted the vocabulary of Tagihama, whose locality, the Sultan of Sulu lived and established Buansa, the capital of said sultanate. From this stemmed two dialects – the Parianum, which is spoken by the people living along the coasts of Jolo; and the Gimbahanun which is spoken by those in the interior part.